The United Republic of Tanzania
Tanzania Mission to the UN
Tanzania at the UN
General Assembly
Security Council
News Release
Security Council Presidency
Peacebuilding Commission
Investment and Tourism
Quick Links
Contact Us

  Tanzania at the United Nations

Tanzania became a member of the United Nations on 14th December 1961.  It should be however noted that Tanganyika was a member of the United Nations from 14 December 1961 and Zanzibar was a Member from 16 December 1963. Following the ratification on 26 April 1964 of Articles of Union between Tanganyika and Zanzibar, the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar continued as a single member, changing its name to the United Republic of Tanzania on 1 November 1964.

The United Republic of Tanzania participates in the following principal organs of the United Nations:

General Assembly
Security Council
Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

The United Republic of Tanzania is currently a member in the following organizations of the United Nations:

United Nation Environment Programme (UNEP) 2004-2007, United Nations High Commission for Refugee (UNHCR), World Food Programme (WFP), United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) 2001-2005, International Telecommunication Union (ITU) 2002-2006, World Meteorological Organization (WMO) 2002-2006.


The United Republic of Tanzania has been a member in the following United Nations organizations:


United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) 1976-1979, 1991-1994, United Nations Development Program (UNDP) 1998-2000, Global Environment Facility (GEF) 1996, International Labour Organization (ILO) 1975-1978, 1987-1990, 1999-2000, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) 1969-1971, 1979-1982,1985-1988, 1991-1993, United Nations Human Settlement Programme (UN-HABITAT) 2001-2004, World Health Organization (WHO) 1975-1978, 1993-1996, International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) 1977-1980, 1983-1995, Universal Postal Union (UPU) 1989-1999, United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) December 2003, International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) March 2004, International Development Association (IDA) May 2004, International Finance Corporation (IFC) March 2004, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) 1978-1980