The United Republic of Tanzania
Tanzania Mission to the UN
Tanzania at the UN
General Assembly
Security Council
News Release
Security Council Presidency
Peacebuilding Commission
Investment and Tourism
Quick Links
Contact Us
Security Council

The Security Council has 15 members. The United Nations Charter designates 5 States as permanent members and the General Assembly elects 10 other members for two-year terms as non-permanent members. United Republic of Tanzania is currently a member of the Security Council having been elected by the General Assembly in October 2004.  The term started on January 1st 2005 and will end on December 31st 2006.  The United Republic of Tanzania was a member of the Security Council for the first time in 1975 to 1976.

The United Republic of Tanzania decided to contest for the current Security Council seat for the following main reasons:

1. The issues on the agenda are relevant and of concern to Tanzaniaís Foreign Policy.

2. To participate and influence the Security Council in advancing the peace processes with which Tanzania is already involved in its immediate neighbourhood-Burundi, Rwanda, the DRC and the Great Lakes Region as a whole.

3.  To seize the opportunity, on behalf of Africa, to forge and strengthen regional cooperation and partnership with the United Nations in the areas of conflict prevention, mitigation, management and resolution; to enhance institutional cooperation between the United Nations Security Council and the newly reconstructed African Union Peace and Security Council.

4. To participate in the critical reform debate of the General Assembly and the Security Council itself, to rescue and strengthen multilateralism and collective security at this critical time when the foundation of the Organization and its Charter are facing new challenges from new threats and unilateral tendencies in global politics.

5. To capitalize on the high profile status of being a member of the Council to develop and strengthen bilateral relations with all members of the UN consistent with the foreign policy priorities and national interests of Tanzania.

6. A response to the urging and encouragement of members of regional groups to which Tanzania belongs, namely Southern African Developing Countries (SADC), the Eastern Africa sub-region and the African Union (AU)

The Permanent Mission of the United Republic of Tanzania to the United Nations takes an active part in the Security Council issues including those on Thematic Debates.